femoyer Hall
Femoyer Hall

The Student Success Center offers a series of weekly, one hour seminars on a variety of topics related to academic success. The program is designed to provide students with a low pain, big gain opportunity to learn strategies to develop the academic skills and personal attributes needed to be successful at the college level. In addition to providing information on a select topic, the seminar atmosphere offers students the opportunity to interact and ask questions related to their individual concerns about the subject.

All seminars are free!  No pre-registration is necessary, however space is limited so students should plan to arrive early.

Also check out The Slusher ARC Lunchtime Series!

The Seminar Series on Academic Success

Location: 111 Femoyer Hall

Time Management Bootcamp
Do you ever wish there were just a few more hours in each day? Do you wonder how you’ll ever be able to accomplish everything you need to do? Time management is a challenge for many students, but attending this seminar can help you get organized and learn how to use your time more effectively, leaving time for both school and fun!

 

Friday, September 1 from 11:00am-12:00pm

Tuesday, September 5 from 4:30-5:30pm

Thursday, September 14 from 5:00-6:00pm

Thursday, September 28 from 4:30-5:30pm

Tuesday, October 3 from 1:00-2:00pm

Monday, October 9 from 6:00-7:00pm

Tuesday, October 24 from 12:30-1:30pm

Thursday, November 2 from 5:30-6:30pm

Effective Study Strategies

Have you ever wondered how, after hours of going over notes and materials, you still can’t remember what you need to know? It turns out that many of the most commonly used learning strategies just don’t work. This seminar will provide you with tips and strategies to make your learning and studying more effective!

 

Thursday, September 7 from 4:30-5:30pm

Tuesday, September 19 from 4:00-5:00pm

Monday, September 25 from 6:00-7:00pm

Tuesday, October17 from 1:00-2:00pm

Thursday, October 26 from 5:30-6:30pm

Monday, October 30 from 6:00-7:00pm

Thursday, November 9 from 5:00-6:00pm

Reading and Note-taking for Comprehension and Retention

Do you spend a lot time reading your assignments, but then don’t remember what you read? Does your mind wander or do you doze off when you’re trying to read? When you’re in class, do you have a hard time knowing what to write down in your notes? If you answered yes to any of these questions, attend this seminar! You’ll learn techniques for getting the most from your readings, staying focused, increasing your reading comprehension, memory recall, and note-taking (both in class and while reading).

 

Friday, September 8 from 11:00am-12:00pm

Tuesday, September 12 from 12:30-1:30pm

Monday, October 2 from 4:00-5:00pm

Monday, November 13 from 6:00-7:00pm

Successful Test-taking

Come learn about successful test-taking! In this seminar you’ll learn strategies for preparing for tests, what to do during a test to help you to remain calm and what to do after your test to learn from your mistakes.

 

Friday, September 15 from 11:00am-12:00pm

Tuesday, September 26 from 4:30-5:30pm

Thursday, October 5 from 5:00-6:00pm

Tuesday, October 10 from 4:00-5:00pm

Monday, November 6 from 6:00-7:00pm

Don't Be a Pokie Hokie: Overcoming Procrastination

You try to get your work done, but there’s always a better time. All of a sudden it’s the night before your big test, or project, or paper and there’s not enough time to get it done! You stress out, stay up all night, and turn something in that you know is not your best work. If you’re tired of that routine, come learn how to use your free time more efficiently to get homework done before the final countdown. This workshop will include motivation techniques to get you started early, help to design a study/homework plan to avoid rushing at the last minute, and will debunk the idea that we work better under pressure.

 

Thursday, September 21 from 5:30-6:30pm

Thursday, October 12 from 4:30-5:30pm

Tuesday, October 31 from 1:00-2:00pm

Monday, October 23 from 4:00-5:00pm

Tuesday, November 14 from 4:30-5:30pm

Making it Through the Final Stretch

Are you stressed out over all the exams, papers, and group projects that will soon be taking up your time? Learn how to stay motivated, manage the stress, and find the time to do all of the things you need (plus some time for fun!). We will also review strategies for effective test taking.

 

Thursday, November 16 from 4:30-5:30pm  (230 McBryde Hall)

Tuesday, November 28 from 5:00-6:00pm (126 McBryde Hall)

Tuesday, December 5 from 2:00-3:00pm (120 Randolph Hall)

Thursday, December 7 from 5:30-6:30pm (307 McBryde Hall)

Monday, December 11 from 6:00-7:00pm (TBD)

Slusher ARC Lunchtime Seminar Series (food welcomed!)

Time: Wednesdays from 12:00-1:00pm

Location: Slusher Academic Resource Center (directions can be found in the column on the right side of this page)

September 6 - Time Management Bootcamp

September 13 - Effective Study Strategies

September 20 - Successful Test-taking

September 27 - Reading & Note-taking for Comprehension & Retention

October 4 - Don't be a Pokie Hokie: Overcoming Procrastination

October 11 - Effective Learning Strategies

October 18 - Time Management Bootcamp

October 25 - Reading & Note-taking for Comprehension & Retention

November 1 - Successful Test-taking

November 8 - Don't be a Pokie Hokie: Overcoming Procrastination

November 15 - Making it Through the Final Stretch

November 29 - Making it Through the Final Stretch

NOTE - If you are a Virginia Tech Student Organization, Resident Advisor, or Department and would like to schedule a Seminar on Academic Success for a time other than those listed below, you will need to submit an ONLINE REQUEST FORM at least 2 weeks prior to the proposed seminar date.

___________________________________________
Have questions?
Need more information?
Contact Tommy Amal, 231-5499
___________________________________________
If you are an individual with a disability and desire an accommodation, please contact our office at 231-5499 or email us at studentsuccess@vt.edu during regular business hours at least 10 business days prior to the event.